FeaturedLatest NewsNews

Sound Transit Board elects 2023 leadership team

SEATTLE, Wash., December 16, 2022—The Sound Transit Board yesterday unanimously elected King County Executive Dow Constantine as chair of the Sound Transit Board of Directors. University Place Councilmember Kent Keel, who was praised for his three years of service as the Board’s chair, was unanimously elected to serve as a vice chair, while Snohomish County Executive Dave Somers was also unanimously re-elected to continue as a vice chair.

Board Chair-elect Dow Constantine. Snapshot from Sound Transit meeting on December 15, 2022.

“I thank my fellow board members for their vote of confidence and look forward to working with them to build, operate and maintain the high-capacity transit system our voters approved,” Executive Constantine said. “Today’s ambitious and difficult work will yield tomorrow’s carbon-neutral, region-wide transit system — one that will benefit the millions of residents we represent and the generations to follow. I look forward to working with new CEO Julie Timm, the board, agency staff, and our riders and advocates to create the mobility solutions our growing Central Puget Sound metro region needs.”

The two-year appointments begin on January 1, 2023. Constantine previously served as Board chair from 2014-2016, leading the Board’s efforts to shape and pass the historic Sound Transit 3 ballot measure.

The next Board Meeting is scheduled for January 26, 2023, at 4 p.m.

SOURCE: Sound Transit Press Release

2 thoughts on “Sound Transit Board elects 2023 leadership team

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *