AnnouncementsFeaturedLatest News

Arlington Councilwoman selected as Community Transit board chair

Snohomish County, Wash., February 4, 2023—Arlington City Council Member Jan Schuette was selected by her peers this week to serve as chair of the Community Transit Board of Directors for 2023. A former Stanwood High School principal, Schuette was elected to the Arlington City Council in 2013 and has served on the Community Transit board since 2016.

Snohomish City Council Member Tom Merrill was selected as board vice chair and Stanwood Mayor Sid Roberts was selected as secretary. Snohomish County Council Member Megan Dunn was recently named as an alternate to the CT board by the county.

Former Community Transit board chair and Lake Stevens City Council Member Kim Daughtry was selected as PSRC policy board representative. Schuette was named PRSC alternate representative.

The Community Transit board is comprised of nine elected officials from Snohomish County and the cities within the transit agency’s service district, as well as a labor representative selected by the agency’s bargaining units.

Community Transit Board members include:

  • Arlington City Council Member Jan Schuette, chair
  • Snohomish City Council Member Tom Merrill, vice chair
  • Stanwood Mayor Sid Roberts, secretary
  • Labor Representative Lance Norton
  • Lake Stevens City Council Member Kim Daughtry
  • Lynnwood Mayor Christine Frizzell
  • Marysville Mayor Jon Nehring
  • Mukilteo Mayor Joe Marine
  • Snohomish County Council Chair Jared Mead
  • Snohomish County Council Member Strom Peterson

Community Transit Board Alternates include:

  • Brier City Council Member Mike Gallagher
  • Bothell Mayor Mason Thompson
  • Edmonds City Council Member Susan Paine
  • Mountlake Terrace Mayor Kyoko Matsumoto Wright
  • Snohomish County Council Member Megan Dunn

Community Transit is responsible for providing bus and paratransit service, vanpool and alternative commute options in Snohomish County. The agency is building a network of Swiftbus rapid transit lines with the Swift Blue Line along Highway 99, Swift Green Line between Canyon Park/Bothell and Boeing/Paine Field, and Swift Orange Line coming to Mill Creek and Lynnwood in 2024.

SOURCE: Community Transit press release

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *